Home » FG inaugurates c’ttee for flood emergency response
Headlines National News Nigeria Top Headline

FG inaugurates c’ttee for flood emergency response

An Inter-ministerial Committee on disaster risk reduction of flooding hazards in the country has been set up by the Federal Government to activate efforts towards developing a National Multi-sectoral Flood Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan.

Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development Sadiya Umar Farouq who inaugurated the Committee said, this was in tune with a Presidential directive aimed at developing humanitarian policies and coordination of National and International humanitarian interventions

“The Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs is to ensure strategic disaster mitigation, preparedness and response, as well as manage the formulation and implementation of equity, focused social inclusion and protection programmes in Nigeria”.

The Minister Said.
(R-L) Min. of Interior, Alhaji Rauf Aregbesola, Min. of Environment, Mohammed Mahmud Abubakar, Min. of Information And Culture, Alhaji Lai Muhammed, Min. of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management, And Social Development, Hajiya Sadiya Umar Farouq, Representative of Min. of Agriculture And Rural Development, Min. of Water Resources, Engr. Suleiman Hussein Adamu, Min. of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, at the Nigerian Army Resource Center Abuja for the inaugural meeting.

Also speaking, Director-General, National Institute of Hydrological Service Agency, Engr. Clement Onyeaso Nze, said, “the Agency is doing everything possible in making sure that the root causes of flood are tackled, as opposed to just making forecast”.

According to a statement by the Minister’s Deputy Director of Information, Ms. Felicia Adeyemo, the High-level inter-ministerial committee consists of the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Ministry of Water Resources, Ministry of Agriculture Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Information, Federal Fire Service, National Orientation Agency, Nigerian Security Civil Defence Corps, National Institute of Hydrological Service Agency, Nigerian Meteorological Agency and National Emergency Management Agency.

Muzha Kucha

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: