Home » Edo Decides: Results of 16 LGAs announced
Edo Election Featured Headlines News

Edo Decides: Results of 16 LGAs announced

Results from 16 LGAs have so far been collated and announced at the INEC centre in Benin City, Edo state capital, after a keenly contested election on Saturday

2 LGAs are still being awaited, after which INEC will declare the winner.

Elections was held in all 18 LGAs with pockets of violence reported in some polling units.

Incumbent governor, Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party is running for a second term and is closely challenged by Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress.

Two of them contested against each other in the 2016 governorship election when Obaseki emerged winner – then as an APC candidate, and Ize-Iyamu run under the PDP.

Both Obaseki and Ize-Iyamu switched party, Ize-Iyamu moved from the PDP to APC, while Obaseki left APC for the PDP, after loosing in the primaries.

14 political parties fielded candidates but APC and PDP’s candidates led the poll.

Observers said voters turn out, at Saturday’s poll, was very impressive.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: