Home » President Buhari nominates 11 for conformation as Judges
FCT Featured Headlines News Nigeria

President Buhari nominates 11 for conformation as Judges

The Senate at plenary received a request by President Muhammad Buhari for the confirmation of 11 nominees as Judges of the Federal High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The request was contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

In the letter the President explained that the request was in accordance to Section 256(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended,

The nominees are: Abubakar Husseini Musa (Adamawa State); Edward Okpe (Benue State); Babashani Abubakar (Borno State); Emuesiri Francis (Delta State); Jude Ogho (Delta State); Josephine Enobi (Edo State);  Christopher Opeyemi Oba (Ekiti State); Mohammed Idris (Kano State); Hassan Maryam Aliyu (Kebbi State); Fashola Akeem Adebowale (Lagos State); and Hamza Muazu (Niger State).

The Minority Whip, Senator Philip Aduda, under Order 43 of the Senate Standing Rules objected to the absence of a nominee from the FCT.

However, the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele representing Ekiti Central under the same point of order, explained that the FCT already has Judges on the bench of the FCT High Court.

Meanwhile, in a related development, the President Mohammad Buhari also requested the senate to confirm the appointment of three members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB).

They are: Barr. Ben Umeano (Anambra State – South East); Hon. Johnson Abonaema (Edo State – South South); Olayinka Babatunde Balogun (Ogun State – South West).

Also to be confirmed is the appointment of Umar Garba Danbatta, as Executive Vice Chairman of the Governing Board of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) for a second term of five (5) years.

According to President Buhari, the nominee’s appointment is In accordance with the provision of Section 8(1) of the Nigerian Communications Act 2003.

Amaka Ene

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: