Home » COVID-19: FG to shut 3 airports till further notice
Coronavirus Headlines National News Nigeria

COVID-19: FG to shut 3 airports till further notice

The Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority NCAA, says from 21st midnight Saturday, Airports in Kano, Enugu and Port-Harcourt will be closed to all international flights.

While all foreign flights will be restricted to the Lagos and Abuja Airports to further prevent the spread of the COVID19 and to assist authorities to manage any development.

In a NOTAM( Notice to airmen) to all operators and signed by the Director-General NCAA, Captain Musa Nuhu, says the Federal government restrictions into the country for travellers from the 13 countries and which commences midnight today is also applicable to all flight crews from the affected countries.

These countries are the US, UK, China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Japan and South Korea.

Others are Norway, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Spain.

He, therefore, directed that all operators wishing to operate or fly into Nigeria are required to operate with two(2) sets of flight crew (augmented crew); one set to operate into Nigeria and the other set to operate out of Nigeria.

“All persons arriving into Nigeria who might have visited these countries, 15 days prior to such arrival, will be subject to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days.”

“Effective E from 00.01 hours Saturday 21st March 2020, Mallam Aminu Kano international airport, Kano (DNKN), Akanu Ibiam International airport, Enugu (DNEN), and Port Harcourt international airport Omagwa (DNPO) will be closed to international flights.”

” Only Nnamdi Azikiwe international airport (DNAA) and Murtala Mohammed International airport, Lagos,(DNMM) will be opened to accept international flights irrespective of the type of operation.”

All Operators have been directed to comply with these restrictions.

Nosa Aituamen/Lagos

Leave a Reply