Home » Kano Assembly suspends 5 members
Headlines Local News Nigeria

Kano Assembly suspends 5 members

The Kano State House of Assembly has suspended five of its members a six months suspension over the previous week’s rowdy session in the house.

The Speaker, Abdulazeez Gafasa, announced the suspension during the resumption of house plenary session held in Kano.

He said the members were suspended for misconduct and violation of the rules of the house.

Members suspended include, Garba Yau-Gwarmai, APC representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa Constituency, Labaran Abdul Madari, APC representing Warawa Constituency, Isyaku Ali Danja, PDP representing Gezawa Constituency.

The other two members are Mohammed Bello, APC representing Rimin Gado/Tofa constituency and Salisu Ahmed-Gwangwazo, APC representing Kano Municipal respectively.

Speaker Abdulaziz Garba Gafasa maintained that the five members were suspended for violating the rules of the house especially Order IV Sub 4 a, b, d and e disrupted the sittings of the house and prevented proceedings from going on.

Radio Nigeria recalled that during the resumption of sitting of the house, last week some members attempted to disrupt the sitting.

The attempt followed a move by the Chairman of an ad-hoc committee constituted to investigate the former Emir of Kano, Muhammad Sanusi ll, with a one week dateline to present its report.

It was however recalled that when the members sensed a move by the committee Chairman, the Deputy Speaker, Alhaji Hamisu Chidari to read an observation two days before the dateline, a member representing Dala Constituency, Alhaji Hussaini Lawal raised an alarm and rejected the attempt.

Immediately, other PDP members and some APC legislators protested and also rejected the attempt, which caused the fracas, a situation leading to physical combat among some members.

Abdullahi jalaluddeen/Kano.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: