Home » Senate adjourns plenary till July 2
Headlines National News

Senate adjourns plenary till July 2

The Senate at plenary on Thursday adjourned plenary till July 2 after a close door session.

It also set up a 12-member ad hoc committee to liaise with management of the National Assembly for seat and office allocation to lawmakers.

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, made the announcement after an hour closed-door session at the National Assembly.

He gave the committee two weeks to enable the lawmakers have permanent seats in the chamber as well as permanent offices.

Sen Lawan further announced that a one-page document from National Assembly Directorate of Finance and Administration had been circulated for lawmakers to fill appropriately to complete their documentation process.

He thereafter announced Abubakar Kyari(APC-Borno) as Chairman of the committee, while members are senators Aisha Modibbo (APC-Adamawa), Gabriel Suswan (PDP-Benue), Abdullahi Sabi (APC-Niger), Betty Apiafi (PDP-Rivers), Bassey Akpan(PDP-Akwa Ibom).

Others are Barau Jibrin(APC-Kano), Ibrahim Gobir(APC-Sokoto), Nicholas Tofowomo(PDP-Ondo), Solomon Adeola (APC-Lagos), Chukwuka Utazi (PDP-Enugu), Stella Oduah (PDP-Anambra).

The Deputy President of the Senate, Ovie Omo Agege moved the motion for adjournment and seconded by Sen. Philip Aduda (PDP-FCT).

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: