Home » Oseke wins constituency seat
Local News Nigeria Top Headline

Oseke wins constituency seat

Mr. Preye Oseke of the APC has won the Southern Ijaw Federal Constituency seat into the House of Representatives.

The Returning Officer, Dr. Chilaka Francis while declaring the result said Mr. Oseke polled 56,804 votes to defeat the PDP candidate and current Speaker of the Bayelsa House of Assembly Mr. Konbowei Benson who scored 34,105.

The total Registered voters were 165,449, total valid votes 92,612, total votes 94,071 and rejected 34,105

Meanwhile, a former Secretary to the Bayelsa government and candidate of the PDP, Prof. Steve Azaiki has beaten other contenders to the Yenagoa-Kolokuma/Opokuma Federal Constituency.

He polled 51,639 votes to beat the APC candidate, Mr. Osomkime Blankson who had 16,943 votes.

According to the Returning Officer, Dr. Robinson Olulu Registered votes were 124,029, Total votes cast 74,694, total valid votes cast 69,583, rejected votes 5111

Also, The APC has won the house of representatives seat for Tambuwal /Kebbe federal constituency in Sokoto state.

Announcing the result at the collation centre,the returning officer Professor Ibrahim Abdullahi said the APC candidate.

Alh. Bala Kokani polled forty eight thousand five hundred and three votes to defeat the incumbent representative of the area Abdussamad Dasuki who scored forty two thousand three hundred and sixty seven votes.

However, speaking to Radio Nigeria after the announcement, the defeated member Abdussamad Dasuki rejected the result claiming that the election was marred by a lot of irregularities.

He alleged that during the election security agents had chased voters away while on the queue, collected ballot papers and thumb print for his opponent.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: