Home » Pres. Buhari swears in ICPC board
Featured Headlines News

Pres. Buhari swears in ICPC board

Memebers of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) at the inauguration in Council Chambers, State House, Abuja. Photo: Sunday Aghaeze

President Muhamamdu Buhari has inaugurated the chairman and eight other members of the board of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related Offences Commission (ICPC)at the presidential Villa Abuja.

He gave them a marching order to end corruption in Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

The Senate had on December 20, last year confirmed Prof Owasanoye and eight others as board members of the commission.

The board members are Dr Grace Chinda (Delta, South-south), Okolo Titus (Enugu, Southeast), Barr Obiora Igwedebia (Anambra, Southeast) and Mrs Olubukola Balogun (Lagos, Southwest).

Others were Justice Adamu Bello (Katsina, Northwest), Hannatu Muhammed (Jigawa, Northwest), Abdullahi Maikano Saidu (Niger, North-central) and Yahaya Umar Dauda (Nasarawa, North-central).

President Buhari urged the board to collaborate with other government agencies such as the Office of the Auditor-General of the Federation towards mitigating wrong-doing in public expenditure.

The president tasked the board to come up with strong preventive policy measures and strategies for government’s endorsement to take Nigeria to the next level in the fight against corruption.

Muhammadu Buhari who described the fight against corruption as crucial in the national development, pointed out that,that was why he have often said – if we do not kill corruption, corruption will kill Nigeria.

In his acceptance speech, the chairman of the commission, Professor Owasanoye pledged that they would not disappoint the president and the country.

Bello Wakili

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: